Qualifications européennes - Jabra Ladies Open

Annabel Dimmock (Eng) et Pauline Roussin-Bouchard (Fra, am) qualifiées pour l’Evian Championship 2019

Un suspense incroyable, des jeunes championnes talentueuses et déterminées, des exploits (3 trous-en-un), un parcours majeur au top et une météo parfaite : la 4e édition du Jabra Ladies Open, doté de 150 000 €, a tenu toutes ses promesses. Au final, après une lutte sans merci, l’Anglaise Annabel Dimmock (22 ans) s’impose sur l’amateur française Pauline Roussin-Bouchard (18 ans), toutes les deux décrochant leur qualification pour l’Evian Championship du 25 au 28 juillet prochain.

L’Evian Resort Golf Club s’est enflammé lors du 3e et dernier tour du Jabra Ladies Open au rythme de la lutte sans merci qui opposait la leader de la veille, l’amateur française Pauline Roussin-Bouchard (18 ans) à l’Anglaise Annabel Dimmock (22 ans), classée 49e sur le circuit européen. Une lutte qui tournait vite au duel, les deux joueuses faisant course en tête, loin devant leurs poursuivantes (132 joueuses au départ, 26 nationalités). La Tricolore voyait ses chances de victoire s’évanouir sur le 16 (double bogey) puis le 17 (bogey), son ultime birdie sur le 18 ne lui permettant pas de forcer la porte du play off. Annabel Dimmock, avec une carte comptant 4 birdies et un seul bogey sur le 17, rentrait le putt de la victoire pour finir sur un score de 206 (-7), un coup devant la Française.

« C’est incroyable, je suis ravie » s’enthousiasme la vainqueur, qui empoche 24 000 €. « J’adore ce parcours, c’est un véritable test pour juillet. J’ai hâte de jouer lors des 25 ans du Majeur. »

 

Avec cette victoire lors du Jabra Ladies Open comptant pour le LETAS et le LET, sa première sur le circuit européen, Annabel Dimmock s’offre une double qualification majeure - pour l’Evian Championship et l’AIG Women’s British Open 2019 - ainsi que sa carte pour jouer le LET 2020.

Sa dauphine, Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, qui a déjà remporté 3 titres amateurs cette saison en plus d’une 4e place à l’ANA Inspiration Junior et une 7e à l’Annika Invitational, vient de saisir une incroyable opportunité, celle de se qualifier pour l’Evian Championship 2019. Elle intègrera les rangs très fermés du Majeur pour s’élancer le jeudi 25 juillet sur un parcours qu’elle connaît bien, pour y avoir notamment disputé la finale de la Haribo Kids Cup à 10, 11 et 12 ans. Une nouvelle source de fierté pour la Galaxie de l’Evian Championship. 

MAJEURS
OFFICIELS

Suivez-nous

European qualifiers - Jabra Ladies Open

Annabel Dimmock (Eng) and Pauline Roussin-Bouchard (Fra, am) qualify for The Evian Championship 2019.

Incredible suspense, talented and determined young champions, feats (3 holes-in-one), a major course on top form and ideal weather conditions: the 4th Jabra Ladies Open, with a purse of €150,000, lived up to all expectations. In the end, after a ruthless battle, the English player Annabel Dimmock (aged 22) finished the winner, ahead of French amateur Pauline Roussin-Bouchard (aged 18), with both qualifying for The Evian Championship, from 25 to 28 July.

The Evian Resort Golf Club was in a state of excitement during the 3rd and final round of the Jabra Ladies Open during a ruthless battle between the previous day’s leader, French amateur Pauline Roussin-Bouchard (aged 18), and England’s Annabel Dimmock (aged 22), ranked 49th on the European Tour. A battle which rapidly became a duel with the two players leading the way, far ahead of the other contenders (132 players representing 26 nationalities began the competition). The French player saw her chances of victory fade on 16 (double bogey) and then on 17 (bogey), with her final birdie on 18 not enough to create a play-off situation. Annabel Dimmock, who produced 4 birdies and just one bogey on 17, holed the victory putt to finish on an aggregate score of 206(-7), one shot ahead of the French player.

 

With this win at the Jabra Ladies Open, co-sanctioned by the LETAS and LET, her first on the European tour, Annabel Dimmock qualifies for two Majors - The Evian Championship and the AIG Women’s British Open 2019 - plus receives an LET tour card for 2020. 

“It’s incredible, I’m delighted”, says the excited winner, who pockets €24,000. “I love this course, it’s a test run for July. I can't wait to play in the Major’s 25th anniversary tournament. ”

Her runner-up, Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, who has already won 3 amateur titles this season plus a 4th place in the ANA Inspiration Junior and a 7th place finish at the Annika Invitational, has just clinched an amazing opportunity, that of qualifying for The Evian Championship 2019. She will join the exclusive field of players for the Major, which begins on Thursday 25 July on a course she knows well, after having competed in and won the final of the Haribo Kids Cup at the age of 10, 11 and 12. A new source of pride for The Evian Championship galaxy.

MAJORS
OFFICIALS

Follow us