Back to the list


Ryu, winner of the Rolex Annika Major Award 2017

Share this article

Despite an average performance this week in Evian where she only finished 40th, So Yeon Ryu has won the Rolex Annika Majior Award, which each year since 2014 crowns the player who performs best and plays the most consistently in the five women’s majors.

The world number 1, aged 27, succeeds the American Michelle Wie (2014), her compatriot Inbee Park (2015) and the New Zealander Lydia Ko (2016) as holder of the trophy.

“It is an honor for me to succeed some of the greatest players in history. Receiving this award shows my ability to be competitive at leading events. A little luck is also needed to create the winning opportunities at these tournaments.”

Ryu become world number 1 at the end of June 2017.

At the start of April, she won the ANA Inspiration, the first leg of the Grand Slam, by beating the American Lexi Thompson in a play-off, to claim her second major after the US Open 2011.

She finished 3rd at this year’s US Open.

So Yeon Ryu, the winner of the Rolex Annika Major Award, is more than ever in the running for the title of LPGA player of the year which would crown her superb season in 2017.